Pillow Talk

I’ve often found that a king size comforter works quite nicely on a queen size bed. When Emily bought a new bed last fall, she chose a king size spread. Unfortunately, it was packaged as a set, with two king size shams, and her pillows were standard.  Something had to be done. After all, that bed is occupied 24/7. Dexter, her cat, spends his days curled up on her bed while Emily is at work, and she slleps there at night. What to do?

Mom to the rescue!

First, I took one end of each sham apart and trimmed away the extra fabric, leaving 4 strips about 8″ wide, in 2 contrasting patterns, as you see here.

Salvaged fabric from pillow sham
Salvaged fabric from pillow sham

Seeing this strip on my cutting board gave me an idea–but first, I had to finish resizing the shams.  A simple task, yes, but tedious. Reassembling the contrast trim took a little extra care, but the result was worth the trouble.

Resized pillow sham
Resized pillow sham

No self-respecting sewist leaves extra fabric on her sewing table, of course, and I knew I had enough to design some sort of accent pillow. In my stash, I found a 6″ x 20″ neck roll pillow form. I’m sure I bought it with a specific project in mind, but how can a creative thinker like me possibly remember every single one of my wonderful ideas? The pillow was there, and nothing else mattered. First, I trimmed and sewed 3 of the strips together, creating a 7″ x 21″ rectangle with alternating patterns. Next, I had to fill in the sides of my pillow by cutting two 7″ diameter circles. To adjust the fit, I pinned the pillow cover pieces in place, wrong sides out.

Side panel
Side panel
Pinning the cover in place
Pinning the cover in place

Finally, I very carefully removed the cover and attached the side panels. Emily’s bed is now as sophisticated and perfectly put together as she is.

(Dexter remains a hot mess, which is a story for another day. )

The finished bed
The finished bed
Leave a Reply

