If You Sew It, They Will Come

Runner detail
Runner detail

 

Among our extended family of 34 people, my mom definitely had the best Christmas last year.  If she can host a minimum of 3 dinners during Christmas week with at least 15 people at her table, she’s a happy woman.

Of course, I came in second, because Santa brought me an  Elna 860!   (For those judgy people who are keeping track, that makes a grand total of 2 sergers and 3 sewing machines.)

For my first project, I thought the holiday dinner queen could use a personalized table runner.  Armed with 3 yards of a nice linen from Quilters Studio in Fairfax, I got to work.

Monogram in progress
Monogram in progress

 

Monogramming is easy on the 860, and looked so elegant on the linen. I thought I’d add some tassels and be done.  Then, I had another idea. Why not add some color, and maybe a little embroidery? Not to mention, I had an issue with shrinkage. My original three-yard cut was now only 103″ after washing.  And yes, I should have known that would happen. Still. Since the finished width of my runner was 14″, I cut two 15″ x 18″ rectangles of paisley cotton print left over from another project. For added texture and interest, I channel quilted the panel, and added some embroidery.

Center panel
Center panel

Just for fun, I repeated the large embroidery motif on either side of the panel.

Embroidery close-up
Embroidery close-up

The finished runner measures 120″–ten feet long! While it appears ridiculously long on my small table, the runner will look just right in my parents’ dining room.

The finished runner
The finished runner

 

 

Leave a Reply

