“Totally Cute” Hostess Gift!

??????????

We got back from Florida last Monday night, which meant I had only four days to come up with a hostess gift for a party on Saturday. Luckily, I remembered this “Totally Cute Apron Tute” by SewMuch2Luv  from a Pinterest board.  It was perfect for my friend Irmina, a fellow sewist who loves all kinds of crafts.   I stitched it up in very little time, and I absolutely love how it turned out.

My interpretation is different from the original, because I used traditional floral prints instead of the dots and more graphic floral Karen used.  What I like most about this apron is the encased hemline. Just FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS CAREFULLY, and her “burrito” sewing technique comes out great!  Here’s a view of the apron skirt, with encased hem and pocket ready for sewing.  Note the professional-looking hem. (My sad photography skills don’t do it justice!)

Laying pocket over apron skirt with encased hem
Laying pocket over apron skirt with encased hem

Next, I attached the waistband.  Note that this entire apron is made of 30″ rectangles and strips, making both cutting and sewing very easy.  (As always, the rotary cutter is your friend.)

Topstitching waistband
Topstitching waistband

Since I had a little extra fabric, I decided to take out my stitch regulator and try another potholder. Since I didn’t photograph it with a ruler, there’s no perspective, but it’s about 9″ x 4″.  I used the apron skirt fabric for one side of my potholder, the pocket fabric for the other, and the hem/waistband pattern for the binding.

The stitch regulator, part 2
The stitch regulator, part 2
Finished potholder
Finished potholder

Thank you, Karen, for posting this totally cute and totally easy apron at Sew Much 2 Luv. I know I’ll be making more of these as gifts!

Leave a Reply

