Fat Quarters Apron

Fat Quarters Apron
Eliza’s Fat Quarters Apron

A good sewing pattern, like a good haircut, will always look terrific–no matter how you style it. That’s how Eliza wound up with this very cute apron design from Sew4Home.com.  While Sew4Home’s apron is stitched in Moda’s Wee Woven Brights, I simply used some fat quarters I happened to have in my collection.  Although they used 5 different fabrics, I only used 4, because I had two quarters of one fabric, and couldn’t find another in my stash that went as well with all that purple.

The rickrack, French seams, and grommets made for an interesting project. I enlisted my favorite handyman’s assistance for the grommets, because the only tool I can wield with any skill at all is a seam ripper.  (Seriously, a hammer is beyond my pay grade.)

The unlined apron skirt is made up of 5 panels, which is why you really need those French seams.  The pattern directions promised the apron skirt would look beautifully finished–and it does.

Finishing up a French seam on the apron skirt
Finishing up a French seam on the apron skirt

Placing the pocket was easy, as the directions were simple and clear.

Lining up the pocket
Lining up the pocket

And I really like how the apron bib turned out, with the rickrack edging. The dark violet rickrack I discovered in my fabric cabinet matched perfectly. Here, you see the bib and waistband ready for sewing.

005

After gathering the skirt, attaching the waistband was a breeze.  This corner will have a grommet where Eliza will pull through and knot the apron tie for an original look.

Attaching the waistband
Attaching the waistband

Kevin helped me with the grommets, which he placed 1″ from the edge of the bib and waistband, as directed.

The apron bib, marked for grommets
The apron bib, marked for grommets
Preparing the to install grommets
Preparing to install the grommets

This detail shows how I attached the rickrack trim at the waistband. Eliza loves the colors.

Waistband rickrack
Waistband rickrack

After I attached the skirt, it was fun to see the project coming together, just as the directions showed.  (That’s always my favorite part of any project!) I hope Eliza will enjoy her purple apron for years to come.

Bib and skirt
Bib and skirt
Leave a Reply

