Team Spirit

Jackie's Gator Apron
Jackie’s Gator Apron

Inspiration strikes in the strangest places–like a WalMart, say, in Gainesville, FL.  Although I was searching for Florida Gator fabric, I never expected to find anything this cute.  Using Simplicity 4987–yes, again!–I stitched up this apron for my sister Jackie.  Her birthday is in two weeks. She’s an alumna, of course (Class of Nineteen-Never-Mind).  And I just knew she’d appreciate two of my specialties, an apron and a bag, as gifts.

At barely five feet tall, Jackie is definitely a petite woman, so I used View 2, the shorter chef’s apron. By not including a front pocket, I saved just enough fabric for a cute little zippered bag.

I used two different trims on the bottom half of the apron, in orange and white.  As always, I made my own bias tape for the top edges.

Attaching the trim
Attaching the trim

For the bag, I used bamboo handles similar to these from JoAnn, an 11″ white metal zipper from my stash, and the same orange rickrack from the apron.   I also cut individual flowers from the white trim and sewed them on separately. (At 10″ by 11″,  I thought the bag was too small for two separate rows of trimming) For the zipper, I cut four 3″ x 11″ strips of the orange lining fabric, attached the zipper to them, and then inserted it between the bias binding and bag.

Sewing the zipper into the bag
Sewing the zipper into the bag

From the top, you can see how the zipper tucks neatly inside the finished bag.

Zipper
Zipper

Last but not least, here’s the little Gator bag, all ready to be shipped with the apron to Jackie in Florida. I know she’ll love them both!

013

Leave a Reply

