The Proper Equipment

This all started last year, when we decided to refinish the hardwood floors upstairs.  Soon, the project took on a life of its own.  Emily and Eliza’s former bedrooms are now two fully functional guest rooms, with a queen and two twin beds, respectively.  Then, we ripped a hideous and inconveniently-placed set of built-in shelves out of the master bedroom closet, leaving an open and airy place for our clothing and shoes–with an ottoman in the center for a comfy dressing area.

Inspiration struck.  If an efficient closet could make such a difference, imagine  what I could do with my own space dedicated to sewing.  With apologies to Emma Woodhouse, it darted through me, with the speed of an arrow, that it was time to design my own sewing studio.  (Somehow, I just know  Denise Wild will appreciate the name I gave my creative space.)    I chose the smallest bedroom, which used to be Eliza’s.  Although small, its double window has a southern exposure.  So I’ve got plenty of light, and all my equipment fits perfectly.  Honestly, I should have done this years ago.

sewing machines

My four machines, in case you’re wondering, are my trusty Elna 7000 and Elna serger, purchased with my mom’s generous assistance in 1989, along with the Bernina 240 and Bernina 1100 serger I got about 15 months ago at G Street Fabrics.   I can’t say enough about my 240–it’s simply a wonderful and versatile little machine.  While it’s not the Bernina 8 series, it does everything I need.  And my new serger’s a dream.  Over two decades, the Elnas have endured three moves and some VERY intense usage.  When my daughters were small, I could literally make a pair of simple, elastic-waist shorts in under 20 minutes.

Here is a love note to the serger  I might have written myself–it is truly the best “pro” item of equipment for any home sewing enthusiast.  Rolled hems are just the beginning.

(N.B. The tech who serviced my Elnas a couple of years ago told me they were “orphans,” because Elna had gone out of business.  Happily, Janome has recently revived the Elna brand.)

Having my fabrics and notions organized and easily accessible was important to me, and this glass-front cabinet fits the bill.

fabric cabinet

Finally, this Big Board work station provides a wonderful, LARGE cutting and pressing area.  For regular ironing or opening seams on smaller projects, I just use a table top ironing board on my work station.

big board work station

With the exception of the cutting/pressing table, everything is from Ikea.   I chose white for simplicity, adding color with accessories.  I love how the pink chairs make the curtains pop.  And doesn’t the floor look great?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sharon says:

    Hi Maddienstitches, I bought an Elna 7000 at a yard sale and it did not have a cord to plug it in, and so I took it to the local sewing store, and they fixed the timing, and ordered the cord. And so now I have it working! One thing I notice is that there is one cartridge that says IJ on it, but I have not stitch chart to guide me in how to use this additional stitch option. I’d love to have the chart instructions so I could sew even more fantastic stitches. I’ve searched online and so far not able to locate the instruction card that I need. Any help you might provide for me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time. Happy sewing!!! I LOVE your sewing space!!!! Peace, Sharon 🙂

    1. Sharon–Isn’t the 7000 a great machine? So happy to hear you got yours working. The IJ stitches are located on a cassette installed in the machine. I do know the cassettes can be exchanged, though I am not sure where they go. Your cassette is the third of four made for the 7000; the others are EF, GH and MN. I would ask the very competent people who repaired your 7000 to order you a stitch guide for the IJ. I’m sure they will help you. Alternatively, you could check with your local Elna dealer. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

